We recognise the contribution and achievements of a number of outstanding members and players each year with the following perpetual awards.

Perpetual Awards Description & Recipients

The Presidents Cup for Fairest & Best Male Player

Chosen by senior coaching and support personnel for the best player of the year exhibiting both on field performance and cultural leadership. First awarded to Ray King, a Subs player for 50 years, pictured here on the right presenting the award to 2005 winner, Cam McNeil.


2017 – Jack Antill & Fraser Dudfield

2016 – Joey Beech

2015 – Ric Beeching

2011 – Stefan Ray-Hills

The Presidents Cup for Fairest & Best Female Player

Chosen by senior coaching and support personnel for the best player of the year exhibiting both on field performance and cultural leadership. The cup was donated by Shelly Dival, the first female President of Subs.


2018 – Kirstin Dwyer

2017 – Gitte Michels

2016 – Tarryn Bright

2015 – Tarryn Bright

2011 – Joannne Nixon

Masters Player of the Year

Created with the support of club major sponsor, Slater & Gordon and chosen through nomination by the VP, Masters as best Masters player of the year.


2018 – Peter Fairweather

2017 – Peter Connolly (Inaugural)

Vynka Hohnen Memorial Trophy for Best Goalkeeper

Vynka Hohnen was the goalkeeper for Subs top women’s team. A local high school student, she went on to graduate as a lawyer from Bond University in 1997 where there is now a prestigious scholarship in her name awarded to West Australian students. She was known as compassionate and a very popular and fun person around the club. Aged 24, she died in a tragic car accident when her car left the road on Victoria Ave when she was on the way home from work in late 2000.

The trophy was donated by her family in her honour.


2018 – Ruby-Rose Hayward 2017 – Jordan Moore 2016 – Jocelyn Bartram
2015 – Anna Sheer 2014 – Rachel Martino 2013 – James Richardson
2012 – Annalise Delfos 2011 – Brendan McDowell 2010 – Sarah Ilsley
2009 – Nicola Purser 2008 – Bill Bennett 2007 – Simon Harrison
2006 – Ian Evans 2005 – Bill Bennett 2004 – Johnathon Willis

Syd Johnson Cup for Champion Team

Sydney Harley “Syd” Johnson was born in Kalgoorlie in 1915 and educated at Cottesloe State School, Perth Modern and University of WA gaining a LL.B. degree in 1937. A stalwart of Suburban Hockey Club before and after  WW2 he served as President and was also part of the UWA “Legends” team celebrated as part of their 80th anniversary in 2004.

He fought in WW2 flying Lancaster bombers over Germany and was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross in 1944 and a bar on conclusion of his double tour of operations. Post war Syd came back to Suburban Hockey Club for a short period before being appointed as Crown Prosecutor in Papua New Guinea and served there for 20 years. Back in Perth in 1969 he was appointed first Registrar of the District Court of W.A. which came into being in 1970 and he played a prominent role in the early development of that institution. Syd authored a book on his war time exploits “It’s never dark above the clouds”.

The Syd Johnson trophy was donated to Suburban Hockey Club by his family following his death and it has been designated to the team with the most outstanding achievement each season.


2018 – Womens Premier 1 – Promoted in 2018, finished second on ladder, played in first womens P1 grand final for the club.

2017 – Womens Promotion 1 – Minor premiers, promoted to Premier 1 finishing top of play-offs and major premiers.

2016 – Womens Provisional 2 (Gold)

2015 – Womens Promotion 2

2011 – Mens Provisional 3 (Black)

Bevan Lawrence Perpetual Trophy for Club Person of the Year

Bevan Lawrence commenced playing hockey aged 13. He was the founder of the Riverside Lions Junior club in 1995 and has been a driving force in building the now Suburban Lions club to this day and much of the success the club enjoys with it’s junior and womens programs in particular can be attributed to his efforts and passion for the sport. When he retired as the President of the junior club around 2010, the then Committee presented a trophy to him to award to the person he felt had made the greatest contribution to the club that year, in their way continuing the spirit for which Bevan is renowned.

In addition to his notable professional achievements as a Barrister, Lawyer and Nedlands City Councillor, his hockey achievements as a volunteer and player include:

  • President of the amalgamated Suburban Lions Hockey Club in 2012, ongoing active contributor to Hockey WA including multiple Committees and advisory roles over the years;
  • State representation in Under 15’s in 1960, then as an adult in 1971 & 1973 and Over 40’s three times including the victorious side of 1990 as Vice Captain;
  • Played A1 (now Premier 1)  for a total of 17 seasons for three clubs; Old Aquinians, UWA (Full Blue 1965) and Fremantle;
  • Coached Old Aquinians Premier 1 team 1963, 64 and 72 and coached Premier 1 Fremantle 1980;
  • Hotspurs (State All Stars) member from 1972 until now. Toured overseas as team member in 1973, 75 ,86 and 2006. Toured India with Cricketers (now Wolves) in 1978;
  • Continues to this day as Vice President of Womens, Operating Committee Member, Club senior representative on Shenton Turf board and Hockey WA Council and a junior coach.


2018 – Shaun Ray

2017 – Edward (Eddie) Singhe

2016 – Brad Ladyman

2015 – Lauren Sabbagh

2014 – Michelle Brown

2011 – Garry Fitzpatrick

2009 – Sharon Maxwell

Junior Player of the Year

Created with the support of club major sponsor, Slater & Gordon and chosen through nomination by the Juniors Coordinator as best junior player of the year.


2018 – Nicole Enslin

2017 – Jolie Sertorio (Inaugural)